• Founded in 1934 by Sir C V Raman the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore was registered as a Society on 27 April 1934 with the main objective of promoting the progress and upholding the cause of science. The Academy began functioning with 65 Founding Fellows and the formal inauguration took place at the Indian Institute of Science.

    On the same afternoon its first general meeting of Fellows was held during which Sir C V Raman was elected President and the draft resolution of the Academy was adopted.

    In the same month of 1934, the first issue of the Academy’s earliest publication was published. The Academy from its very beginnings has taken great interest and initiative in publishing science research and today publishes 10 science journals in different disciplines, uses an online submission and review management system that’s trackable, papers are peer reviewed and published content is made available online and open access.

    The Academy’s contribution to science and society is also reflected through its policies, values and its range of activities which include:

    The Academy FellowshipAnnual and Mid-Year MeetingsScience Education ProgrammesSponsorship of Discussion MeetingsThe Women in Science PanelRepository of Scientific Publications of Academy FellowsOral History ArchivesCommittee on Scientific ValuesRaman Chair ProfessorshipJubilee Chair ProfessorshipPublications of the AcademyContributions to Science Policy

  • Publications

    • Publications of the Academy


      Thumbnail 1 Among the activities undertaken by the Academy since 1934, to promote and disseminate science, publications has occupied pride of place. Indeed the first issue of the Academy’s earliest publication titled ‘Academy Proceedings’, a monthly, appeared in July 1934, the very month that the Academy was formally founded. Publication of science journals has since remained an important activity. Today the Academy publishes 10 science journals in various disciplines. Starting 2007, the Academy journals are being co-published with Springer. More

  • Chairs

    • Raman Chair


      Thumbnail 1 The Raman Chair was instituted in 1972 by the Government of India to commemorate the memory of the founder of the Academy, Sir C. V. Raman. Eminent scientists are invited by the Council of the Academy to occupy the Chair, for periods of between six weeks and six months. Prof. T. J. Pedley, G. I. Taylor Chair Professor, Department of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, University of Cambridge, Cambridge (UK), has occupied the Chair on 10 February 2016. More

    • Jubilee Chair


      Thumbnail 1The Jubilee Professorship was instituted during the Platinum Jubilee Year of the Academy that is 2009. Eminent scientists from any country and from any scientific discipline are invited to occupy the Jubilee Professorship for a minimum period of two weeks and up to one month. Prof. Ashok R. Venkitaraman, (University of Cambridge, UK), Prof. Nitash P. Balsara (University of California, Berkeley, USA) and Prof. Madhu Sudan (Harvard University, Cambridge, USA) have occupied the chair so far. More

  • Special Focus

    • University education in science


      Report on brainstorming session on science academies' initiative on post-school science education (2009), held on 12 January 2009 at Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi. Restructuring post-school science teaching programmes (2008), a 'Position Paper' prepared on behalf of the three national science academies of India, explaining the limitations of the present system of post-school science education in India and proposing introduction of a four-year BS programme. Higher education in science and research & development: the challenges and the road ahead (2006), recommendations submitted to the Planning Commission for the 11th Five-Year Plan, prepared jointly by INSA and IAS. Report on university education in science (1994).

© 2017 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.